Share this photo on Twitter Share this photo on Facebook Share this photo on Google+ Share this photo on StumbleUpon

Why five colors in Buddhist prayer flags?

Posted by Shuva Brata Deb (Bangalore, India) on 8 November 2016 in Lifestyle & Culture.

Buddhist prayer flags, if you notice carefully are always in a set of five colors and in a particular order only. The colors makes more sense and easy to remember when the flags are vertical.

The order from top to bottom is blue, white, red, green, and yellow, representing the five elements.

Blue symbolizes the sky and space, white symbolizes the air and wind, red symbolizes fire, green symbolizes water, and yellow symbolizes earth.

This picture was taken in Sangla Kinner Camps, Himachal, India.

Canon EOS 70D 1/320 second F/10.0 ISO 100 8 mm

buddhist | flag | color | himachal | spiti

L'Angevine from Angers, France


9 Nov 2016 9:06am